Cardiologist.

I went to see a cardiologist today. It was just a check-up because I have Mitral Valve Prolapse, and I’ve been having heart palpitations and chest discomfort lately. I’ve never had symptoms from the MVP though. I really don’t think I have a structural problem with my heart that could cause symptoms, and the doctor didn’t seem to think so either. We talked about beta blockers and how they might make me sleepy, so that’s iffy. They also tend to lower your blood pressure but my blood pressure is normal. He talked about doing a treadmill stress test but we both agreed it wasn’t really necessary. Tomorrow I’ll be going to get an ultrasound to check things out, and Thursday I will be wearing a holter monitor for 24 hours so they can see what my heart does for a whole day.

I haven’t ever had to wear a holter monitor before, but it’s not a big deal. It’s just leads stuck to your chest that are attached to a little computer box. Upon googling “holter monitor” I realized how glad I am not to be a man with a hairy chest.

All in all, I really don’t think the problem is with my heart. I think the problem is with my potassium/B12/Folic acid like I’ve rambled on about before. But it’s good peace of mind to know what’s going on with my heart since lupus can attack your heart among other things.

Leave a comment