Can you get Raynaud’s everywhere? #lupus

I have Raynaud’s Phenomenon. Blood vessels respond to temperature change by spasming and changing color. My feet are especially sensitive, and are ice cold most of the time due to inadequate blood flow. My hands get pretty cold too, which doesn’t help the pain and stiffness.

As time goes on, I am noticing more and more places on my body that are ice cold. The Raynaud’s that is in my feet has moved up to my ankles. I get ice cold spots on my shoulders and hips. Also, my knees get pretty cold from time to time. I know that normally a person wouldn’t have a lot of body heat coming from their joints, but to be cold as a corpse is a bit odd. Even though the Still’s Disease gives me fevers and hot swollen joints, I still have periods of time throughout the day where parts of my body are ice cold, and I also get the chills. It’s hard to tell if one causes the other or if they both just happen at the same time each day.

I also tend to get livedo reticularis when my parts are cold. If you’re not familiar, it’s a purple lacy rash. It is caused by blood vessel spasms under the skin, which sounds a lot like raynaud’s.

I’ve been told by one doctor that I have “vasculopathy”, which is really just a blanket term for blood vessel disorders. It doesn’t explain the how or the why, or what to do about it.

In the past I’ve tried nifedipine for the Raynaud’s, since it’s especially bad in my feet. But the problem is that it gives me headaches. Anything that changes the natural state of my blood vessels, whether it be dilation or constriction, seems to give me headaches, and that unfortunately includes food. I’ve had to give up cheese and bananas because they trigger migraines. Cardio exercise is also difficult to do without getting a headache.

I do take a calcium channel blocker to lower my blood pressure by a few points, because anything over 120/80 is terribly uncomfortable for me for some reason. The doctors always blow it off as “not that high” but to me it feels like I’m on crack. Doesn’t that mean something’s wrong?

I feel like I am dealing with Raynaud’s Phenomenon everywhere.

 

5 Comments

  1. Hi Jill. I have similar problems… My hands and by the time forearms get ice cold several times a day, I get the chills and the upper side of my hands and my forearms get this spiderweb like violet pattern. My knees too, even my ears and nose react that sensitive to temperature. Very strange… And noone could tell me what this is. They only told me I dont have typical Raynauds.

Leave a comment