Process of elimination #lupus

I’ve had problems with breathing at night for quite a while. It started a few years ago and would happen occasionally, and seemed to get worse when I took tramadol for some reason. It’s gotten worse since then. I’ve seen  a pulmonologist, cardiologist, neurologist and a GI. So far everyone just blows it off.

It’s been really bad. Two nights ago, I was up all night long. I went to bed at 7am. I felt like someone was squeezing my chest, and every time I was about to fall asleep, I woke up choking for air.

It sounds like sleep apnea but I really don’t think that’s it. I tested negative for it in 2014. I’m more concerned that it might be my heart or my gall  bladder.

For most of February I was probably getting 4-5 hours of sleep per night. I tried propping my bed up for a while, which was terribly uncomfortable. I stopped taking any medication that has drowsiness as a side effect since that seems to make it a lot worse. I was doing breathing exercises before bed and whenever I woke up in the night, which only provided temporary relief. If I fell asleep at all, it was by accident.

On the nights I did sleep, I was waking up hot and drenched in sweat, which can sometimes be a sign that your heart is doing fucked up shit.

More recently, I’ve weened off the metoprolol (beta blocker for heart palpitations) and also lowered my blood pressure medication (both at my own will) and I’m doing a little better. I had a stress test last October that showed that my heart was performing well while on the metoprolol, but I’m thinking that it’s causing a problem now.

I’m still taking the Norvasc for my blood pressure, but I’m down from 7.5mg to 2.5mg. My blood pressure is elevated and my heart rate is in the 100s, but I’m sleeping better. I have to sleep.

As you’ve read before, I’ve had some problems with sitting in certain positions. I’ve given up on sitting on the couch because it gives me chest pains and shortness of breath.

I am going to make an appointment with a new cardiologist because my current cardiologist likes to blow me off and tell me to exercise. I’ll exercise as soon as I can breathe.

I am hopeful to find a cardiologist who knows how to look for even the most minor inflammation. My current cardiologist had admitted that sometimes inflammation can be so mild that it’s easily missed.

Also, I’m having a terrible time with gastritis and acid reflux. I stopped taking the Duexis (ibuprofen) and I also think that it’s made a difference in my breathing at night. I occasionally just take over-the-counter ibuprofen. I haven’t had it in a few days though. I’m probably more achy than usual but it hasn’t been unbearable. But I haven’t really left the house in a few days. Also, my period is next week so I know I’m fucked for pain and headaches.

My breathing gets worse when I have my period too. I was thinking about taking the progesterone shots to stop it.

I’m going back to my GI and asking him to check my gall bladder. I’m on 240mg of Dexilant per day, which is a dose the pharmacy didn’t even want to give me, and I still feel like I am drowning in stomach acid.

He has been reluctant to provide me with any real treatments so far. The only reason I have the Dexilant is because my rheumatologist gave it to me. I am hoping that at my next visit with my GI, he will be more proactive. If not, I’ll have to find someone else.

The gastritis is keeping me up at night. I have to get up at 4-5am and eat, and take medication for it so I can (hopefully) go back to sleep. Otherwise I feel like lava is eating the inside of my stomach.

So, maybe it’s my heart, or my stomach, or both. We’ll see.

I am also going to see another neurologist for the breathing issues and a bunch of other shit. I’m having a lot of muscle weakness in my hands and I’m dealing with a lot of brain fog.

For the past few weeks I’ve had some kind of tendonitis in my hip. My knee was bothering me too, but that seems to be better. I can’t really think of anything I did. I tend to bear my weight on my left leg when I’m standing for a while, but I don’t see how that could cause my hip to hurt for 2 weeks. Then again, I suppose it could, since Lupus is a dick.

I’m having a bad time with my body temperature. Sometimes I’m too hot, and sometimes I feel like someone drained all the heat out of me. I’ve been getting cold hands and feet like usual, but I’ve also been getting ice cold spots on other parts of my body, like my knees and hips. I don’t really know what that’s about. It makes me worry about my circulation. I don’t know if you can get Raynaud’s in other parts of your body. Or perhaps it’s the “vasculopathy”. More mysterious bullshit to deal with.

I also have a shivering problem, and sometimes I’m cold, and sometimes I’m not. It’s really hard on my muscles because it makes me really tense. It’s uncomfortable. I don’t know what that is, either.

I have an appointment with my rheumatologist this week. I’m basically just going to reiterate this blog.

 

 

4 Comments

  1. Jill, I only know you from your reading your blog, but I can identify with the mystery surrounding lupus and the strange conditions it causes! I’m praying for you and all of us that suffer from this hell! Hopefully one day we’ll figure out what the heck is going on and find relief! Take care

  2. Using your challenges in a positive way makes me so very proud of you. Many people could take a page from your book. Best wishes to all “true” responders and autoimmune patients. Much love to you baby girl you’re the most amazing woman I know.

Leave a Reply

