humira #lupus #stilldisease

I had a good doctor appointment on Thursday. I’ve been on Enbrel for the past four weeks, and seeing some subtle changes. My doctor walked in the room and immediately noticed that my skin is no longer covered in a mottled red rash. He seemed really surprised about it. I think “giddy” would be a better word for it.  I hadn’t noticed its disappearance myself. I guess I hadn’t been paying much attention to it, but now that he pointed it out, I can say that he is definitely right. I don’t know how long I’ve had autoimmune activity, but I can tell you that I’ve had that mottled rash since I was a kid. I never thought much of it. I do remember noticing it would get worse when I was cold or anxious. I remember my first day of second grade, being the new kid, and my legs were covered in it.

I’ve honestly never had a doctor be that excited for me before. In the past year I’ve become extremely skeptical of finding a treatment that would bring me some relief, but I’m starting to think differently.

I have a lot of gastrointestinal symptoms, including gastritis and esophagitis, which at times can be pretty painful. This week my doctor switched me from Enbrel to Humira. Both are TNF blockers, but Humira is a biologic that can sometimes help with GI inflammation. Also Humira is a nice switch because I only have to do the shots twice a month as opposed to the once-a-week Enbrel shots.

I did my first Humira shot 2 days ago and I am noticing a change in my GI tract. I didn’t realize it would work that quickly. I don’t think it’s a coincidence, because I’ve been feeling horrible for months and all of a sudden I just don’t feel so completely awful anymore. I’m still having some pain and heartburn, but something seems different.

I ate a snack today and didn’t regret it immediately after. That’s a big deal.

Maybe at some point I can eat real food again. My diet has gotten so bland it’s actually grossing me out. I miss pizza. And chili fries. And flavor.

My doctor has mentioned the possibility of vasculitis being present in other parts of my body. It’s hard to really know for sure. For the past 3 years or so I’ve had to cut out almost all salt from my diet, because I would have a bad reaction to it right after eating. My blood pressure suddenly became high. Both are strange occurrences for me because I have a disease (Addison’s disease) that usually requires a higher salt diet and usually tends to present itself with low blood pressure. It might be too soon to tell but it seems like lately I’ve been able to eat salty food without feeling that terrible after. It would be nice to be able to eat a small amount of salt again, considering how hard it is to leave out salt. Plus salt is flavor, and I like flavor.

All of that is of course a theory, but it makes sense to me.

I’m still having some fevers, but overall I don’t feel as hot as I normally do. It’s hard to gauge sometimes because the weather is still so hot here. But I’m having a few hours a day where I’m not uncomfortable. It’s been pretty nice.

I am having some trouble with my lungs. I suppose I have been for a while. My cardiologist’s assistant said she heard some tightness in my lungs. It definitely feels tight. I get short of breath easily. It has been affecting my sleep for a while. I’m going to see a pulmonologist. I had asthma as a kid and I do think that to some degree I still do. But I also think there is some other kind of inflammation going on as well. It’s gotten gradually worse like all my other problems. I’m doing a repeat stress test on my heart just to make sure, too.

My next Humira shot is on the 29th. I’ve got a few more doctor appointments coming up too.

3 Comments

  1. Your rheumatologist is such a caring and wonderful doctor…it’s hard to put into words …I love how understanding he is, you can share anything with him and you can see the true compassion in his eyes when you discuss things that are going on whether medical or personal… he has been especially kind in this last stressful and disappointing year. You deserve the best baby girl and I believe he is the best.

Leave a Reply

