Actemra #3 and neurology #lupus #stillsdisease

I had my 3rd Actemra on Tuesday. I talked with the doctor about my plans to see my neurologist this week, and to make sure it was alright to have my infusion since I’ve been having new symptoms. I also told him that I felt I had a few weeks where I wasn’t waking up in the night with a fever, but it had started happening again. I also had a few weeks with more mild rashes compared to the feverish red rashes I usually get, but that those are back too. He told me that some people feel like Actemra lasts for 3 weeks, and he decided to give me some solu medrol for a boost.

Solu Medrol has made me feel like crap in the past, but it was with other infusion drugs, so I figured I’d give it a go to see if it helps with the fevers and stuff. So far, I feel like crap. I asked some people in the support group if Solu Medrol ever made them feel worse instead of better, but apparently I’m the only one. When I got home, I had the leg cramps, and they went on all night. My eczema has gotten pretty red and angry, and I had headaches and heart palpitations for a few days. I’m still having fevers and rashes. I’ve slept a little better the past two days, but the fevers are still waking me up.

I’ve been having pretty bad vertigo for the past week. I had an ENG in March, which didn’t show anything. I don’t think my vertigo is an ear problem. I was doing some reading online (y’know, consulting Dr. Google) and I was reading about cervical vertigo (cervical as in spine, not lady parts) and how some people with arthritis in their neck can get vertigo. It makes sense to me, because when my neck pain gets bad, that’s when I get the vertigo, and I usually have a headache with it too. I had a spell of vertigo just like this a couple summers ago. It’s awful. I can’t do anything to occupy myself. I can sort of watch TV but using the computer, drawing, and reading all make me horribly dizzy because I have to look down to do them. Wearing a neck brace makes it better, which reinforces my theory on a cervical cause. Wearing a neck brace is terribly uncomfortable, though. Also, I don’t have vertigo when I get up in the morning, probably because I’ve been resting my neck all night. I don’t really know what makes it flare, but last time it was this bad, it was also summer. Probably a coincidence. I don’t know.

I went to see my neurologist yesterday about all my weird neurological symptoms. He thinks my episodes are “too long to be seizures”, but he wants to order up a seizure sleep study to see if there is some epileptic activity in my brain. Unfortunately, and this happens a lot, he referred me to a doctor that doesn’t take my insurance. So now we have to try to figure something else out. He also talked about the blood vessels in my brain, and how the vasculitis (and aftermath “vasculopathy”) can cause changes in blood flow to certain parts of my brain, which could cause symptoms as well. As far as some of my meds making it worse, his advice was “don’t take those” which was really kind of a “no shit Sherlock”.

Kinda frustrated with all of it. I don’t want to stay overnight for some test that may or may not figure out the problem, and I don’t want another pill with a billion side effects if they happen to find something. I’m losing a lot of sleep from my symptoms, and I have medications that were helpful for other things that I can’t take anymore, so I have to deal with those symptoms too.

I keep thinking back to when one of my (ex) doctors told me she would have me back on my feet and going back to school in 6 months. That was 3 years ago, 5 treatment plans ago, 2 diagnoses ago, and a partridge in a pear tree.

4 Comments

  1. Have you been tested for peripheral neuropathy/autonomic dysfunction? That fact that your vertigo gets worse when you are upright can point to a orthostasis issue (autonomic nerves not working in your lower extremities to squeeze vessels to prevent blood from pooling). Might be something to investigate with your neurologist. Hope you feel better 🙂

    • Thank you, I had the nerve stim test where they use the electrical needle done in my arms and legs about a year and a half ago that was normal, and around the same time also had a vascular ultrasound on my feet that confirmed raynauds but no other findings. Interesting though, I’ve been wondering if I could possibly have some vagus nerve issues given that I have a small hiatal hernia and that can sometimes irritate it. I really do get some bad arthritic pain and stiffness in my neck too, and have wondered about possible nerve compression there being the cause. MRIs haven’t showed much but I haven’t had one on my head/neck in a while. I will talk more to my neuro about it, thanks again 🙂

  2. You’re welcome! I’m actually a med student going through a similar ordeal. I’d like to correspond via email if that would be alright – my email address should be visible to you. Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

