Endoscopy results #lupus

I met with my GI today to talk about the endoscopy I had 2 weeks ago. He showed me some pictures he took during the procedure. I do not have any infections. The tissue samples showed mild chronic gastritis and esophagitis but there is no evidence of pre-cancer. He showed me the mild inflammation in the pictures. The tissue samples also showed that I do not have Celiac Disease or serious food allergy. He showed me the hiatal hernia and how it causes the lower esophageal sphincter to not close completely. This is why I have acid reflux.

We are going to try to control it with diet first. I have already eliminated most, of not all, acidic things from my diet because they make me feel horrible. Even though I don’t have food allergies, it is possible I could still have a gluten intolerance that is causing some of the gastritis and esophagitis. I’m going to give up gluten for a few weeks and see how I feel. It won’t be that hard for me. I eat pretty bland anyway. I’ve just gone shopping at Whole Foods and bought stuff made with rice or corn instead of wheat. I’m trying some different vegetables for variety.

Ultimately, it would be great to see a dietician. Between the acid reflux and the salt and sugar sensitivity, it’s been really hard to know what to eat. My GI wrote up a prescription in hopes of getting the insurance company to realize that it’s medically necessary. A lot of the time, a doctor like a dietician isn’t covered by insurance. Insurance companies have a very “Well, you don’t really need it…” attitude when it comes to certain fields of medicine. Things like massage and a nutrition plan could really help people be healthier but since people can get by without it, it’s not covered. If only they realized that letting their customers get by instead of helping them get well actually ends up costing them more money.

I’ve been making an effort to sleep on my left side more. It’s hard when you have chronic pain to sleep on the same side all night. It does help keep the acid down at night though.

The doctor told me that my hernia and acid reflux could be responsible for my heart palpitations and shortness of breath. I’ve had every test under the sun to figure out what has been causing those things, and so far they’ve found nothing. I do notice a relationship between eating and those symptoms sometimes. Sometimes I seem to get it for no reason too.

I’ve been weaning off the Pamelor (migraine med) for a week. Weaning off antidepressants blows. I did notice I could concentrate a little better for a few hours yesterday. I had a headache last night. It wasn’t too bad though. If it was a bad one, I’d still have it.

That’s it for now. My next Actemra infusion is May 12th.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

