Update

I got my blood test results back from my Endocrinologist.

My Thyroid is ok, no Hashimotos.

Estradiol levels are normal, no perimenopause.

ACTH and renin are low, but that has come up in the past. He stated that my Addison’s is well-managed so all I have to do is continue my same dose of Florinef and Cortef.

My Ferritin is better, just have to take a maintenance iron supplement so it stays that way.

So that means any of the weird symptoms I have had aren’t endocrine-related. It’s good to rule that out so when I see the neurosurgeon we can talk about the probability of everything being chiari-related. When I saw a neurologist he was so ready to just chalk all my symptoms up to my other issues, when in reality, my other issues are starting to level out and what’s left is chiari.

My headaches were really bad yesterday. I woke up with one at 5:30 yesterday morning and had it all day, and at one point was trying not to throw up. It is overcast this morning so the change in the barometric pressure must have been an influence. Once the barometric pressure makes up it’s mind I’m ok, it’s the change itself that seems to bother me.

I actually had a relatively good day the day before yesterday. I’m not sure what I did right, as I never am, but my headaches were minimal until bedtime, and I was able to sit and play Mario video games with my brother and his friend without any trouble. Usually when I sit to play I get a headache during, and I just deal with it, but it was a nice “vacation” on Monday. It made me aware of what is within the realm of possibility if I have surgery. It’s easy to not realize all the things that could be helped if I have a successful decompression. The only activities that don’t give me a headache are standing, walking, and lying on my side completely flat (with a pillow) everything else causes a headache. When I say everything, I mean anything from sitting, to bending over, to doing my hair, to showering, to swishing mouthwash, and laughing, and the list goes on. And they aren’t ‘just headaches’. They’re worse than migraines. They are absolutely unforgiving and really hard to get rid of them once they start.

It would be nice to come out the other side with my symptoms reduced even by 70%.

 

 

Leave a Reply

