A bad Chiari day.

I’m having one, so I figured I’d write about it. There’s something to be said about changes in barometric pressure and how they affect a person. I don’t feel that either high or low particularly bothers me (although I loathe hot weather) but I feel like it’s the actual change itself, like when the weather can’t decide what it’s doing. If it’s warm and dry one day and switches to cool and cloudy the next day, I’m definitely going to be feeling it, and vice versa is also true. Where I’m at, right now it has gone from warm and dry to cloudy today.

I know the barometric pressure is affecting me, because when I get up in the morning, I can’t catch my breath. My heart pounds, and I choke on water when I try to drink. The choking is a typical chiari symptom. When the barometric pressure changes, it directly affects the different pressures in your body. People with arthritis have a hard time on cloudy days because the pressure is low and it makes the spaces between their joints expand. Chiari is affected because of the change in spinal fluid pressure, which can result in brainstem compression and compresson of the nerves that pass through the foramen magnum, which is why I am experiencing those symptoms.

Most of the time, along with these symptoms, I get really bad headaches and head pressure, with the exception of today, I seem to not be dealing with that right now for whatever reason.

1 Comment

  1. I live in an area that during Spring the nights and mornings are really cold and the days are warm sometimes even hot…the transitioning from cold to warm are usually hell for me…never knew why…I just got my Chiari diagnosis a few days ago so I still don’t what does what or why…I just know it hurts….I learned something new from you today and would like to say thank you for this post =)

    Suze

Leave a Reply

