Tweak tweak.

There goes my back. I fell asleep last night in some twisted-up position, which I tend to do when my glutes are in a hot spasm, and I managed to pull a muscle in the middle of my back. When I breathe in it feels like someone punched me. I can only sleep on my sides because of the Chiari, but my ass doesn’t much like it, so I twist my lower half to deal with it, and now my back is mad at me.

All bitching aside,

About a year ago I went to a chiropractor’s presentation on trigger point therapy, and he said “There is no such thing as sleeping funny.” I strongly disagree, especially if you have chronic pain. It was a good presentation despite that tidbit, although I can’t say I’m a believer in chiropractors generally speaking.

There’s something to be said about trigger point therapy though. It really does help. If you’re not familiar with it, it’s basically treating a muscle spasm by pushing your thumb into it firmly, rather than massaging it. You have to be careful not to bruise yourself or the person you’re working on. Do some research before you try it to make sure you are doing it the right way.

Unfortunately, I’ve become pretty sensitive to any type of muscle manipulation. I was getting massage therapy for a pretty long time, but my muscles have become weak from hurting too much to exercise (and from the fact that I produce very little testosterone), and it just hurts or feels “weird tingly” when anyone touches me. It’s also become a problem because my Chiari headaches have gotten worse, and anything that increases blood flow to my neck and upper back just makes my head pound. Kind of a bummer, since massage was a huge stress-reliever for me. I’ll get back to it at some point, hopefully this year.

Anyhoo

どうぞお元気で~

^_^

Leave a Reply

