Things that give me a headache

“I was at a bar once, and no one was talking to me ‘cuz I just did a show, and I ran into a guy, and instead of saying “excuse me” he said “get the hell out of my way,”, so I said “Go to hell”, and I ran away. He caught up to me, he had on a hat, a nose ring, an eybrow ring, a goatee, a tongue ring, and 3-earings. He said “Hey man, you have a lot of nerve,” and then I said “Hey man, you have a lot of cranium accessories.” – Mitch Hedberg

This isn’t really a rant, I’m just writing this up so people can compare their symptoms to mine. Feel free to give me a shout out or ask a Q.

As stated in a previous post, I have a hard time wearing ponytails, braids, and buns. I’ve also had a hard time wearing hats that aren’t adjustable, because they tend to be a little too tight, and I’ve actually gotten a headache from a hat before. I can’t wear headbands unless they are really loose and then they usually fall off, so I don’t even bother with it. The claw-type hair clips bother me too.

I have 4 pairs of glasses, one of which I call my “headache glasses” because they are the lightest pair. My other glasses are heavy and having any weight on my face at all is bothersome when I already have a headache. I have a problem with wearing sunglasses too, do I want to squint from the sun, or have weight on my face?

I can’t wear certain earrings and necklaces that are bulky or somewhat heavy because after a while they will start to drive me nuts. It’s hard to explain how it feels. It’s not necessarily pain, but rather a “nails on a chalkboard” sensation when wearing a piece of jewelry and having a headache at the same time. Kinda like when you take your jeans off after a long day and put your jammies on to be more comfy, you’re just like, “Oh man get this off me.”

Being in the car and having the A\C blowing on my face gives me a headache. It makes the muscles in my face really tense, and kinda gives me that “ice cream headache” effect. While we’re on the subject I might mention that when I actually have ice cream, I get back freeze instead of brain freeze. Weird, huh?

Having wind blowing in my ears leads to an eventual headache too. I always either avoid being outside on windy days, or wear a beanie over my ears to protect them.

Coughing, laughing, sneezing, yawning, hiccups, brushing my teeth.

Sitting up in bed is the absolute worst position. Reading in bed is always very difficult. I have to be careful because this produces one of those 16-hour muscle spasm headaches that I can’t get rid of. I recently got a nook tablet and a neat book stand called a “book seat”, and now I can prop up my nook and lay on my side to read, which has helped, but I still have to switch sides every 10 minutes or so because my hips are like FUCK YOU.

Sitting at a desk sucks. I haven’t been able to do art consistantly in forever. It’s really discouraging.

And of course the usual, being overstimulated with loudness and bright lights, which is why I guess I’m not much of a nightlife person. It does me in every time.

Sitting for any length of time makes my neck extremely stiff, and always leads to a headache. Movie theaters are like a torture chamber, loud, bright, and lots of sitting. I still go though. I’m not a total wet blanket. I still go to concerts, baseball games, comedy shows, you name it. But I always battle the headache monster.

I guess this is why I was upset at the Neurology clinic the other day. I want some help. I don’t want them to just shove another pill down my throat so I can be a zombie instead of a human with a headache. What’s the difference? Surgery is really the only way I am ever going to be able to do all these things without a subsequent headache.

3 Comments

  1. I think ponytails and my glasses give me headache as well. I’ve been dealing with a three day headache after starting a headache diet with my fiancé. He gets horrid incapacitating migraines for days at a time so mine seem like a cake walk. Although, this cake walk hurts like hell. The diet seems to be helping him, but I have not been as stringent and well, it’s just not helping as much. Anyway, my blog is about the food choices we are making – found you through the blog interest thing. Headaches have so many triggers when you get them that it is difficult to manage the mine field and just as hard to get real help.

    • My headaches are initially caused by my Chiari Malformation, but I too experience different things that trigger them, including food. I’ve found that coconut water for whatever reason seems to set me off, and of course anything with preservatives. I also have some odd physical triggers like leaning my cheek on my fist when on the computer, peeking under my bed to fetch a shoe, and having my arms over my head for any length of time. I also get headaches from certain perfumes and flowery-type scents. I’m managing to eat pretty healthy, cutting out preservatives and dairy, and junk food. But I am always interested in trying new things and I look forward to checking out your blog. Thanks for reading, and I hope you and your fiance can find some relief.

  2. Hey Chronicalyjill – I had to comment cause 1) My name is Jill, too. 2) my blog title is things that give me a headache and 3) I have never heard of someone having the same issues with headgear that I have. I used to never be able to wear hats or headbands or heavyish necklaces. And sunglasses are always difficult. I have to find ones that are loose enough but then slide off. But I have to wear them everywhere because I’m so sensitive to light. (Also sensitive to noise and smells). I was sick with insane migraines, fatigue and brainfog for about 16 years before I finally got a diagnosis of Lyme Disease. Now that I’ve been treating for 2 1/2 years, I can wear those headbands that have loose elastic on the back and I can even put a hat on every once in awhile. But I also had to cut gluten, dairy, and soy out of my diet and I really have to watch my sugar intake.

Leave a Reply

