Restless Leg Syndrome

I’ve heard more than one comedian on comedy central make fun of restless leg syndrome. I figured it was time I wrote a blog about how it’s not a joke. It’s a legitimate issue, and one that keeps me from sleeping well most nights.

Now, I know the name is kind of….well, bullshit-sounding. But it’s not what you think it is. It’s not jiggling your legs. It’s not when you feel like dancing. Believe it or not, most people, even healthy people, have probably had restless leg syndrome at one time or another.

Have you ever done too much at the gym and woke up in the middle of the night with your calf in a spasm creeping up your leg? Or ran to many miles and your legs are just too sore for you to fall asleep? You feel like you have to move them around to relieve the pain.

This is Restless Leg syndrome.

Some people get pain and cramps in their leg for reasons other than exercise. Mine being all the health issues I have, my muscles just cramp up, and it really hurts, and I move my legs around as a distraction, which in the end probably just makes the muscles spasm worse. But it’s really hard not to move them around. It’s about as hard as not scratching an itch. You just do it without really realizing it.

So yeah, that’s my 2 cents for today.

Leave a Reply

