Methotrexate Hangover

I’ve been on Methotrexate for my Lupus for 4 weeks…I think…ish. My doctor just raised my dose from 7.5mg to 12.5mg. My brain is so blah I had to use a calculator to figure that out. I take a dose weekly, on Mondays. Easy to remember. Which means Tuesdays are gonna be shite.

The first few doses didn’t seem to cause very many, if any, side effects. After the higher dose just once, I’ve spent most of the day feeling like I’m in a Lupus flare. I’m exhausted, but I have insomnia that even interrupts any sorry-ass attempt at taking a nap. I’m hurting everywhere right now, and the Duexis (rx ibuprofen) isn’t helping. My brain just wasn’t and still isn’t running on all cylinders. I’m taking a folic acid supplement to try to combat some if the side effects, since mtx can bottom-out folic acid stores in your body. I rolled out of bed and did some Tai Chi this morning via Xbox Kinect. I didn’t feel too bad when I got up but it’s bedtime and I feel like crap now. Everything hurts everywhere and I have no idea how I’ll manage to sleep, but I’m too tired to occupy myself. I know it sounds like an oxymoron but it’s really how it is. I can’t focus on anything, reading, movies, writing this…and sitting up in bed is giving me a headache. Thanks brain.

Leave a Reply

