Invisalign

This is a tad off-topic from my normal blogs, but it does relate to my health, so I figured I’d write about it.

I have a gap between my 2 front teeth that I’ve always wanted to do something about. It’s weird because other than that, my teeth are in perfect alignment and pretty healthy. No crowding, and I got to keep my wisdom teeth. I just want that gap gone. It bothers me.

I really have tried to like it. Lots of supermodels have one just like mine. But I just can’t seem to get the hang of it. It’s always the first thing I worry about when I meet someone new.

I went to the dentist to talk about some cosmetic procedures, but he seemed to think orthodontics was the way to go. He thinks invisalign would be the solution that best fit my needs. He knows about all my health problems, even though he might have to google some of them. I even broke out in a sexy Lupus rash while I was there so he knew I was serious.

I’ve been kind of afraid to do anything that would move my teeth. I was once curious about veneers but I just don’t think grinding my teeth down is a good idea. But with the headaches I get sometimes, I worry I wouldn’t be able to handle having an orthodontic appliance putting pressure on my teeth.

One of my concerns was I don’t know if brain/spine surgery is in my near future to correct my chiari/syrinx issues, and I was wondering how I would orchestrate recovering from that and keep an orthodontic treatment going at the same time. I don’t want a bracket in my mouth if I have a pounding headache, and I don’t want a bracket in my mouth causing a pounding headache. My neurologist doesn’t want to jump into surgery, and I’m not thrilled about it either, but if I’m in too much pain to go about my life, it has to be done.

The dentist did say that he would let me try one set of brackets and allow me to just pay for those to see if I want to go through with it, which would only be about $200, and it would be worth it to try it out. I thought that was a really nice offer. He seemed to be a caring dentist, which is really hard to come by these days. From past experiences it just seems like most dentists want your wallet.

So now my job I guess is to talk to my doctors to see if they think it’s ok to be moving teeth. If I get the go-ahead from them, I’ll probably be getting invisalign sometime around april/may.

Perhaps I’m just being vain. 

 I hate it when everything is up in the air. I just want one solid “for sure” thing to happen.

Anyone care to weigh in on invisalign?

4 Comments

  1. So I realize this post is (really really) old – but did you end up with the Invisalign? I also have SLE, have had my Invisalign trays for 10 days, and my mouth is covered in sores. I would be greatful to hear how other Lupies have some using Invisalign.

    • Unfortunately no, I didn’t get invisalign. I’ve just been in too much pain to add one more thing that hurts. I’m sorry you’re dealing with the sores. Those suck. There is a mouthwash I use that seems to help them heal, called Peroxyl by Colgate. I hope you can get some relief from your sores soon!

Leave a Reply

