Blood sugar

Yesterday I drank one of those Boost nutrition shakes, not realizing they have almost as much sugar in them as a can of soda. I have hypoglycemic-type reactions whenever I have a bunch of sugar, but my glucometer always reads normal. This was always puzzling to me, until I did some research online.

Apparently, there is something called Adrenergic Postprandial Syndrome. It’s a Pseudo-hypoglycemia of sorts. Although it’s existence is disputed by doctors, it’s something I believe to be possible.

From my understanding, it’s when your body thinks it’s about to go into a hypoglycemic state, so to counteract the low blood sugar, it releases a bunch of adrenaline, thus producing symptoms of low blood sugar without actually having low blood sugar. I experience rapid pounding heart rate, shakiness, confusion and focus issues, fatigue, and nausea. Sounds like low blood sugar. Also sounds like an Adrenaline rush. I was completely exhausted when it was all over.

I’ve been having these episodes since I was about 4-5 years old. My mom and I would call it “the shaky thing.” I got tested for epilepsy when I was little. I had a few years where I didn’t really deal with it, but it’s come back now. I start eating, and halfway through the meal I suddenly get nauseous. Then I shake. When it’s done, I sleep. I don’t really recall what foods were a trigger for me when I was little, but now it seems to be anything processed with a lot of sugar.

8 Comments

  1. Found you after a very specific Google query (postprandial + addison’s) while chasing down a medical hypothesis. I know your particular symptoms all too well, suffering since childhood. Ironically your symptoms, as described, are due to an insufficient adrenal response. There’s a resulting acid-base imbalance very likely contributing to the symptoms as well. That postprandinal drowsiness may be connected to a collapse in vagal tone caused by said acid-base imbalance (among other wonderful effects). I could go on but won’t. It’s all so complicated. Contact me if you’d like specifics that may help to ameliorate and diagnose this lovely bit o’ nastiness.

    • Thanks for letting me know how you found my blog, I always wonder if it comes up in search engines or not. As of right now, I’m just avoiding eating a lot of processed sugar, especially high fructose corn syrup, that seems especially bothersome for some reason. I have yet to attempt any type of diagnosis with this sugar sensitivity. I have Lupus too and I’ve had a few other more urgent things going on, so the sugar thing is sort of on the back-burner. I’m not sure, other than avoiding sugar, what they could really do to help me. I’ve been having mysterious chronic heart palpitations for months and the cardiologist didn’t find anything wrong with my heart, so I’m supposing it’s time to see my endocrinologist again. Thanks for the input though, I am curious about how something like that is handled.

    • Hi Bryce, I’m very much interested in anything else you can tell me about this, but mainly what, if anything can be done about it. I’m 50 lbs overweight, so that one’s a given, but I’ve been having these symptoms for about 10 years now, since gaining the weight & it’s gradually getting worse. I became a pescatarian (no meat besides fish) about 3 1/2 years ago & eat a 95% organic diet, including growing my own vegetables. (No fast food, caffeine, sodas…) But when I eat most carbs, my heart pounds, I feel shaky, have intestinal upset & the next day I feel like I’ve been hit by a truck. (Hence the change in diet) My Dr is putting me back on Metformin thinking it’s insulin resistance, but I don’t remember it helping before. All of my inflammation markers are elevated & my cholesterol is high. (Again, never was 10 years ago) Any additional information would help. Thanks!

    • Hi Bryce, I just stumbled upon this site by looking up Adrenergic Postprandial Syndrome to try and help myself figure out my health issues since the medical field hasn’t been able to in more than 7 years. I would love to know more about the info you posted in your reply above. Any info I can try and piece together is better than nothing! Anyway, it’s been a long time since you posted on here, so my chances of you seeing this is probably nil, but worth a shot! Thanks in advance!

    • Bryce, please let us all know how to get in touch with you so that we could all learn about what is really going on with us. We all feel bad with these exact same symptoms and we don’t know why and doctors are not helping us. Just the little bit of information that you shared is eye-opening and seems right on target but we need more. If you see this message please reply or tell us how to get in touch with you directly via email. it would help us all so much.

  2. I would love more info about this as I just recently started having these symptoms, very severe and life disrupting! The info on the web is practically non-existent as I searched for post-prandial adrenergic syndrome. Bryce, if you’re still around, please share more info!

Leave a Reply

